Your Council

Grants Allocation Committee

Meetings are held in Council Chambers, Ground Floor, 175 Rimu Road, Paraparaumu.

The Committee meets in accordance with the meeting cycles associated with each of the granting programmes.

  • Community Grants
  • Creative Communities New Zealand
  • Districtwide Facility Hire Remission
  • Heritage Fund
  • Waste Levy Fund 

Membership 2016-2019

Acting Chair: Cr Mark Benton

Members: Mayor K Gurunathan, Cr Janet Holborow, Cr David Scott, Cr Jackie Elliott, Cr Michael Scott, Cr Angela Buswell - along with community membership for each granting programme.

Representatives - Creative Communities New Zealand:  Heidi Stone (Youth Council), Mahinarangi Hakaraia (Iwi), Paula Archibald (Community), Mary-Jane Duffy (Community), Jill Stansfield (Community)

Representatives - Community Grants:  Janet Murray (Community), John Hayes (Community), Carol Reihana (Iwi)


This Committee will consider, and allocate grant moneys in accordance with the meeting cycles and criteria of five granting programmes. Key responsibilities will include assessing applications and allocating funds in accordance with each programme’s criteria, considering factors such as (but not limited to): 

  • the clear aims and objectives of the applicant;
  • the project or event for which the grant is requested;
  • where appropriate, evidence of a sound management structure, and good financial management;
  • how closely the application fits with the scheme criteria;
  • the identification and evaluation of local needs;
  • the use of any previous money granted by Council or Creative New Zealand;
  • the level of community involvement in the project;
  • the expected outcomes and benefits of the service/project for the Kāpiti Coast District.

Agendas and meeting minutes

Meeting agendas, which include officer reports, and the minutes for each meeting are in PDF format and available for download or print from the links below.

2017 Meeting Date Agenda Minutes Supporting PDFs
2 February - Heritage Fund View View View
16 March - Waste Levy View View View
6 April - Districtwide Facility Hire Remission View View View
6 April - Creative Communities NZ View View View
7 September - Community Grants View View View
28 September - Districtwide Facility Hire Remission View View View
28 September - Creative Communities NZ View View View
14 December - Waste Levy View View View

Supportings PDFs - 2 February 2017 - Heritage Fund

CS-17-086 - Heritage Fund Allocations 2016-2017.pdf

Supporting PDFs - 16 March 2017 - Waste Levy

Draft Minutes Waste Levy - 8 December 2016.pdf

Draft Minutes Heritage Fund - 2 February 2017.pdf

Supporting PDFs - 6 April 2017 - Districtwide Facility Hire Remission

CS-17-164-Application for Facility Hire Remission Final.pdf

Supporting PDFs - 6 April 2017 - Creative Communities New Zealand

CS-17-162 Creative Communities Scheme - Consideration of Applications for Funding.pdf